Indoor Plant Refresh

This winter has been brutal. Chicago has had so many days well below zero that I lost count. The windchill alone has been insane. So by the first weekend of March, I was over it. There is still several feet of snow on the ground and it was only 29 degrees this morning, but the birds are chirping, the sun is out, and some 40 plus degree weather is on the forecast.

 

I have a beautiful bay window above my kitchen sink perfect for plants. The only problem is that it looks out on the neighbors brick wall and only receives light for about an hour every morning. I  like to think that I have a green thumb and I love gardening both indoors and out, but my indoor plants were looking a little tired. This winter must’ve been hard on them too. I took a trip to my favorite family-owned neighborhood garden center, Adam & Sons. Armed with $20, I started browsing all the gorgeous plants. I ended up with a few small tropical plants from their terrarium section, a fern, and an air plant. I even grabbed a plant to gift my neighbor for her birthday and stayed under budget. Along with a few IKEA pots I had stacked in the basement and few cute new ones from Target, I was ready for the refresh.

 

BEFORE PIC

 

My window was still sporting some of it’s winter decor. My boys and I had made coffee filter snowflakes (which means that Jack made about four, Eames ripped a bunch, and I spent hours on the couch at night cutting them out.) and they were adorning most every window of the house. It was time to kick the snow out. After cleaning the windows, my mini greenhouse, and the window sill, I was ready to pot my new plants. I divided my overgrown peace lily and potted my new plants and some of my old ones. A few plants were destined for the compost bin and a few were moved to other rooms to spread the spring green around.

 

AFTER PIC


For a total of about $40 (not including the half bag of dirt in my basement and few pots in storage) and two hours, I had a fresh looking window, happier plants, and a happier me. Now I just need to declutter the rest of the house!

Leave a Reply

